Sparkling Pomegranate Punch

Sparkling Champagne Punch

I love this punch, but I rarely have enough people over to make it. I rarely use the fruit listed and will just throw in some oranges slices and pomegranate seeds. Also, see my note on the wine. You can make the recipe as directed, but it’s not wrong if you just put the whole darned bottle in there.

Ingredients:
3 TBS sugar
1 c pomegranate juice
2 (750-mL) bottles sparkling wine, chilled
3/4 c late-harvest white wine, such as late-harvest Riesling, chilled
2 oranges, thinly sliced crosswise
1 c diced fresh pineapple (1/2 inch)
1/4 c pomegranate seeds
Ice cubes, for serving

Directions:
In a punch bowl, dissolve the sugar in the pomegranate juice, stirring vigorously. Add the sparkling wine and late-harvest white wine, then add the orange slices, diced pineapple and pomegranate seeds. Serve the sparkling pomegranate punch over ice cubes.  (NOTE:  um, funny story.  When I made this recipe originally, I thought it said 3/4 of a bottle of Riesling so I just added the entire bottle.  I’ve been making this recipe revised with 2 bottles of sparkling wine and 1 bottle of Riesling.  It’s super delicious.  We doubled the recipe for 20 people on Saturday and it went in a blink of an eye.  I didn’t add all the fruit, just sliced oranges.)

Leave a comment